Foo Fighters @The Forum 10/13/11

My first attempt at this was as a straight concert review but I was cracking too many jokes and didn’t take notes anyway. It would have undersold the experience:

This was one of the 2 best concerts I’ve ever seen and I’ve seen a lot of great shows.

Frank Zappa & The Mothers of Invention (I was young… Pops played for him… he scared me!), Earth Wind & Fire (classic lineup), Genesis, Phil Collins, U2, Luther Vandross, Anita Baker, Red Hot Chili Peppers, Peter Gabriel, D’angelo, Jill Scott, Erykah Badu, Seal, Lenny Kravitz, Nikka Costa, P!nk, Jonny Lang… all were sick shows.

The only show that rated higher for me was Prince @Staples Center seven years ago. He played the hits. In the round. The Time opened. Dave Grohl is a bad man but Prince with Morris Day and Jerome? Hammer couldn’t touch that one.

I’m convinced that this is both the best rock band and live act going at the moment, a shoo-in for entry into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame in another 8 years when they become eligible.

I saw them open for The Police’s reunion tour stop at Dodger Stadium about five years ago. The Police rocked for two hours and I LOVE them… copied so many Steward Copeland grooves as a teenager I should write the man a check. Sting was on point, Andy Summers did his thing…

Foo Fighters friggin’ blew them off the stage in 45 minutes flat. They were that good, that into it. The stage was set deep in the outfield with a ton of seats and general admission that sold-out as soon as they went on sale. I had crappy upper deck seats, so bad in fact that Dave Grohl insisted on coming closer. Dude played the entire time that he ran from the stage to one of the two huge lighting / sound scaffolds on the first and third base sides, climbed about twenty feet up, found a comfortable spot and rocked-out for a good five minutes.

I thought I dug him as the drummer on all the Nirvana stuff & that Queens of the Stone Age record, but that tower act was unreal… and didn’t come CLOSE to last Thursday night. The man has found his calling: frontman.

I went in familiar with much of their music, have a few singles and two of their last three albums including their latest, Wasting Light.

As a result of the concert I looked up the setlist and downloaded the twelve songs I didn’t have in iTunes and signed-up for an email alert on their website to alert me to new shows going on sale. I’m buying everything they release in the future as soon it’s available regardless of how negative the reviews might be.

Prince was the best but the biggest show I had ever seen was U2’s Vertigo Tour. Imagine being in a huge cathedral… every movement seemed planned but it was still moving and special. A bit like visiting a cult, too (the U2 gig, not the Catholic church!).

Foo Fighters’ big is more about their heart, a tent revival with the most charismatic preacher you’ve ever heard of or seen before. I’ve been to over a hundred shows and I’ve never seen a more dedicated and obedient audience. The crowd was standing almost the entire night and they enthusiastically followed every command to clap or sing (like that wasn’t happening anyway).

And Dave Grohl loved them… us back, even after falling TWICE (thanks for the reminder, Derick!)

Energy passed back and forth from the stage to the crowd, crowd to the stage in an infinite loop… a perpetual engine that fed itself. They played for THREE HOURS and I’m not talking an easy three hours, these cats WORKED! Taylor Hawkins (drummer) reminds me of a cross between Jeff Spiccoli from Fast Times at Ridgemont High and Animal from the Muppets. I would love to be the drummer in a band like that!

And what act plays SIX ENCORES (except for Prince)?!?*

The night ended with one of the greatest lyrics ever written:

The only thing I’ll ever ask from you, gotta promise not to stop when I say when” (Everlong, of course).

I had chances to see them in the past and blew them off. WHAT IN THE HELL WAS I THINKING?!? If you like guitar rock and have a chance to see them, GO!

For further evidence of the show’s impact on my life, I took a 4 mile solo hike timed to finish just before sunset with nothing but Foo and a camera, here’s what I came out with at the end:

Sums up the experience thus far. Think I’ll write to their music in the very near future, let you know how it goes.

*Check the following video for the most hilarious and ingenious method every devised for keeping a crowd hyped while the anticipation built for the band to come back to the stage:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zDg72tQspgQ

PS BIG ups to my homegirl Winnie Bini for one of the best birthday presents ever!

Setlist

Bridge Burning
Rope
The Pretender
My Hero
Learn to Fly
White Limo
Arlandria
Breakout
Cold Day in the Sun
Stacked Actors
Walk
Monkey Wrench
Let It Die
These Days
Skin and Bones
This is a Call
In the Flesh? (Pink Floyd cover)
All My Life

Encore:

Long Road to Ruin
Best of You
Times Like These
Miss The Misery
Medley: Dear Rosemary / Breakdown (Tom Petty and The Heartbreakers cover)
Everlong

3 responses to “Foo Fighters @The Forum 10/13/11

  1. …. rub it in why don’t you! 😛
    Seems like I missed out on an awesome concert indeed!
    Glad you had such a wonderful time…. especially with as little sleep as you got!

    • thanks… it was life changing. i didn’t realize i had been jonesing for a REAL, LIVE “FAVORITE ROCK BAND” but i was… so much music is electronic and blah nowadays, even the stuff that’s SUPPOSED to be rock. you know what i grew up watching live and even though i LOVE their shows with 10x the production, foo fighters blows any genesis tour i’ve ever seen away from the ENERGY perspective.

      THAT’S what i love most… the energy. they left it all on the stage.

Leave a Reply

