Happy Accidents

What a day, what a day.  Started with four hours of sleep, a deleted blog database… and one shaved knuckle.  It ended with a rebuilt blog and the knowledge that a silly ole’ day job doesn’t have to stand in the way of finishing my manuscript in the coming weeks, stay on schedule to begin the representation quest in January.

 

My previous post discussed focus and discipline, how the disruption to my creative cycle has slowed my writing output to a crawl.  I decided to pull all-nighters this Friday and Saturday but blowing up the blog during the migration to WordPress last night prompted me to take the laptop to work, re-edit the posts during my lunch break so that I could put them on the new site tonight.

 

I was shocked that it only took twenty minutes in a packed break room!

 

Figured that the chaos would throw me off but it sharpened my focus, instead.  My mother cleaned the house to loud music when I was a kid, I grew up around live music… tried to write a school paper at the library a few years back but couldn’t.  Had to go home and blast the television to make progress, one of those freaks who can’t focus when it’s too quiet!

 

I opened the story file to see what would happen and lost track of time… got off ten minutes of effortless work.  Might not sound like a lot of time but I’ll accomplish a lot over three forty minute sessions per week.  Never imagined I would be able to create while tuning-out multiple conversations occurring only a few feet away, talk about feeling blessed!

 

Still don’t know where this drive came from, blows me away because I’ve never wanted a goal so badly that I was willing to work night and day to attain it.  But writing isn’t work anymore, hasn’t felt like a chore in ages.  I should be asleep now, but…

 

I have to write and when I’m not doing it, I’m thinking about doing it.  I feel empty when I haven’t put anything down in a few days.  The motivation for this journey started as an avoidance of regret but it’s evolved into much more.  The need for expression has overwhelmed the fear of failure… she makes me smile, completes me, “had me at hello”…

 

Writing is my viral obsession and I hope it never runs its course.

 

Ah, finished just in time to get another four hours of sleep… perfect!

4 responses to “Happy Accidents

  1. So psyched to follow your blog, man! Personally and professionally, blogging has brought me reward I never could have imagined. Congrats on the migration and the new launch… Mazel tov! and BLOG ON! (I just subscribed btw.)

  2. Doing good! Your blog grabs me just like your book pages have done!
    You’re making me want to write again, but there is too much on my head and it all wants to come out at the same darn time.. the prefect ‘two people trying to get through one narrow door at the same time’

    Your writing is quality and I can not wait to see your book on the shelves.. And you better be proud of what you’ve done so far cause you’ve got every reason to be! I know I am 😀

Leave a Reply

